New countries added to the UK’s Registered Traveller Service.

Another border entry related post for today (see the other one about the USA here), the United Kingdom has added some extra countries to the Registered Traveller Service. Previously this was only reserved for citizens of Japan, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and the USA.

UK Visas and Immigrations logo

As of today, citizens from the following countries are also included in the programme:

  • Taiwan (if your passport has a Personal ID number on the photo page)
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • South Korea

All citizens of the above countries need to hold a valid visa or have visited the UK at least 4 times in the last 24 months.

If you subscribe to the Registered Traveller Service you don't have to fill in landing cards on arrival at the UK, and you can even use the e-gates usually reserved for EEA citizens to scan your passports.

It does come at a price though – £70 per year to be precise. By way of comparison, it is $100 for 5 years (average $20 per year) for Global Entry in the USA or €205 per year for Privium at Amsterdam Airport…but not the rest of NL.

You can find out more about the service or apply here.

About Tim

Tim is a Chartered Engineer and a typical nerd who analyses every travel deal, travel hack. He has travelled to around 90 countries and also speaks Spanish, Portuguese and Mandarin.

More articles by Tim »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.